Working for NOLS Patagonia

The Rocky Mountains

The Canadian Rocky Mountains to be precise; Jasper National Park and Banff National Park. And WOW do they ROCK! I am not ashamed to tell you that I fell madly in love with Jasper, the little town surrounded by mountains that lies in the middle of the park. It's very small with only 4000 inhabitants, and the best way to get around is to walk or cycle. I was thrilled to be able to ride my bike to the grocery store and walk right up the peaks of the park from my 'home'. Every street offers a great view on the majestic mountains peaking over the roof- or treetops, I couldn't stop smiling :) I stayed for over a week, both in the hostel and on several people's couches. I met awesome people, swapped stories, dreams and experiences, hiked in the woods and up the mountains, went on bicycle rides, explored frozen rivers and canyons, walked around the little 'down town', found the best teashop and bakery (even a store that sold salt liquorice!), went on a road trip, saw a local hockey game, had chicken wings on "Wing Night" in the local Dead Dog pub, and loved all of it. Like I mentioned in my last story, Jasper is home to both humans and animals. The elk are as much part of the population as the humans; they will block traffic (causing extreme excitement and photographic behavior from tourists, and intense annoyance from locals), and move around town looking for a spot of grass or a good place to hang out. As I was out on a close-to-town bike ride with my host Julie, she suddenly shouted "Elk!" and pointed right. No more then 5 short meters away from me was the male herd of elk relaxing in the open forest. And male elk are huge, I can tell you! Big animals with enormous antlers, who can be very dangerous at the wrong time of year. Thankfully they let us pass in peace, and I was another wildlife experience richer. Further wildlife-proof: during my visit several parts of the forest were closed off to the public because a wolf pack was roaming around town, garbage containers of any kind are strictly bear proof (bears used to come to town every night to look for food), Jasper is the only place in Canada where it's a valid reason to call in sick for work if there's a moose on your front lawn blocking your only way out of your house, and while hiking in the woods I found fresh cougar tracks in the snow...  "So how do you defend yourself from a cougar?" I asked a born-and-raised Jasper man. He had just been telling me stories from his youth where he would thrown stones to eating grizzlies, chase a black bear up a tree and run after a mother bear and her cubs for a fun game. With a brilliant smile on his face he answered me "Oh you can't defend yourself from a cougar, no no! It will observe and follow you around quietly, and you won't see or feel it until it sinks its claws in your leg or neck. And by then it's too late!" So it's safe to say that Jasper is an absolutely awesome place! :D I traveled south to Lake Louise. The road from Jasper to Lake Louise is considered to be one of the most beautiful rides on earth, and I can confirm that alright!  The bus left at 7 in the morning, giving us a full sunrise experience as we drove by indescribable beauty. I wrote the following about it in my travel journal: Wow! I can't stop taking photo's. I can't stop smiling. A warm feeling is spreading in my chest, stuff like this makes me so happy! I get all emotional and actually get tears in my eyes, all the while the sceneries are mind boggling beautiful. I'm at the front of my seat, excited like a little kid, ready and waiting for the next corner. Wow Canada! Come on people, you háve to see this! There has to be some kind of 'Must See Before You Die' list somewhere, and this for sure should be in the top 5! We are driving through valleys filled with green trees, rugged mountains sparkling in fresh snow, frozen rivers, intense rock formations, ice walls and mountains, mountains, mountains. My thoughts aren't very clear - all I can think is "WOW!!!!!", "When can I come back again?" and later "I háve to come back here!". So now you know, you can't die before you see this. No discussion. I am not even going to tell you what it looked like, words won't do justice. I will put some photo's online, but it's nowhere near the experience. Only solution: you all have to come and visit me when I live and work here next year, and I will show you! I traveled on to Banff, another small town in the middle of a National Park. Banff is at least twice as big as Jasper, and with a short two-hour-ride away from Calgary quite touristy. It lacked the 'Vlieland feeling' I found in Jasper, and it took me a few days to warm up to this new home. But now that I've been here for almost a week, I'm starting to get to know it and appreciate it more. Banff too is surrounded by wildlife, mountains, hiking paths and has some very nice little shops and cafe's. And like everywhere, the people make a place into what it is, and I've been so lucky to meet a few really good ones again :) And now I've got only one week left in Canada, next saturday I'm flying to Alaskaaaaa!!! :D A couple days ago I heard I will become part of the Denali Trail Crew, spending most of my days working outside in the park! I'm só incredibly excited to begin this new phase of my journey, and I'm happy to say I can look back at the first phase (my "drink" of the 8 course meal) with a good and proud feeling. New York, Québec, the Rockies, all of the amazing, kind, fun, inspiring and strong people I met (the list still going strong and growing every day), the stories and dreams I heard and found, the Canadian land and nature I got to explore, the good and bad moments I got to enjoy and endure.  All of them have played a very important role in this first part of my journey, and I am glad and thankful for it. For without them, it would not have been the same!  * Inge's note: Thanks for sticking with me so far and 'traveling with me' all the way through Canada, my wonderful family, friends, old colleagues, Zwollenaren, Groningers, Vlielanders, Norway people, Kiwi's, fellow travelers, CS hosts and what not ;) You know I appreciate you!

Reacties

Reacties

Niels

Hee zusje :)
Wat prachtig om te lezen en wat maak je een boel toffe, spannende en leuke dingen mee. Ik hoop dat je kunt genieten van elk aspect van je reis, ook al ben je de kudsneeuw soms even zat, of het gebrek aan je eigen kamer met tort boontjes-bord (wat ik totáál niet de verkeerde kant op heb gedraaid o:)).
Trouwens, laatst zag ik ook een Pauw lopen in het Julianapark, achter gaas. Dat is ongeveer hetzelfde, denk ik.
Anyway, have fun en we spreken elkaar wel weer s 's nachts. :)

Martha

Moi Meiske,

Wat een prachtige verhalen en foto's krijgen we van je. We genieten heel erg met je mee. Een hele goede en mooie reis toegewenst naar Alaska. Heel veel groeten uit het plaatsje niet veel groter dan Jasper, in het noordelijkste puntje van Nederland.

mama

lieve verwegdochter,

als ik je verhalen lees ben je juist even dichtbij en dat is een heerlijk gevoel! je droom om een wereldreis te maken maak je waar, en uit elk verhaal blijkt hoe intens je geniet, leert, en ervaart. Mooi hoor.
Dikke knuffel en jks, veel liefs ;)

Hobina

Lieve Inge,

Je maakt het ons niet moeilijk ´to stick with you´ met wederom een prachtig verhaal over je reisbelevenissen.
Het is duidelijk dat je volop geniet, de Rockies-area klinkt als een plek waar je helemaal in je nopjes bent. Ik wens je een goede reis naar Alaska en kijk nu al uit naar je verhalen over het vrijwilligersproject aldaar.
Keep smiling!

Dikke kus,

Hobina

Ik ben overigens wel benieuwd of je over twee jaar nog een woord Nederlands spreekt dame ;) (Ik ga naar áláska remember? haha)

wim en gemma

Hallo Inge,
Weer zo'n prachtige serie foto's. Wat een belevenis daar! Je voelt je er helemaal thuis denk ik?? Wel veel sneeuw he? Maar wat zul jij veel nieuwe ervaringen opdoen!
Goede paasdagen gewenst en tot de volgende keer.
Veel liefs en groetjes van wim en gemma.

{{ reactie.poster_name }}

Reageer

Laat een reactie achter!

De volgende fout is opgetreden
  • {{ error }}
{{ reactieForm.errorMessage }}
Je reactie is opgeslagen!

Deze reis is mede mogelijk gemaakt door:

Travel Active