Working for NOLS Patagonia

The 'Magic' Bus

'You have to be on the ride to feel the euphoria. It's kind of a rule.' by Dani.


That bus... that magic @#$%*^#! bus! 51 hours of driving across Canada... That doesn't give you a lot of euphoria, I can tell you!

51 hours of hobbling along endless roads, listening to your fellow passengers snore, cough and fidget, enduring the extremely annoying pushing up against your chair from the person sitting behind you, eating crappy Tim Hortons bagels, trying to force your body in a pretzel-shape so you can 'sleep' on your chair, enduring toilet brakes in gross by the road places, getting stuck in the snow and waiting for a tow truck, feeling like a wooden poppet, having no (!) internet - and the continuous driving, driving, driving and driving along the endless Trans-Canada Highway...
Just in case you didn't know; Canada is huuuuuge!!! This bus ride really made me understand the enormous size and stretched-out-ness of this country. Funny fact; Canada is 240 times bigger then the Netherlands, but has only twice it's population. So you can imagine that as we were driving along Ontario, Manitoba, Saskatchewan and on to Alberta, I got to see a whole lot of nothing.
Ontario's nature is friendly but simple with rolling hills, forests and lakes, but Manitoba and Saskatchewan are nothing more then flatness. The straight road goes on and on for as far as the eye can see, with nothing but fields on either side. Every now and then a 'settlement' of some kind pops up; a motel, restaurant, a few houses and some farm-related businesses - before you drive into no man's land again. The people in these teeny tiny villages live so incredibly isolated, it would take them at least an hour or two to drive anywhere populated, if not more.
And just when you think 'Where in the world do these people buy food, clothes and furniture?' - Winnipeg and Saskatoon rise up out of the dust. 'Big' cities in the middle of nowhere with your regular McDonalds, Wallmart and Starbucks. I seriously wonder what drives people to live in these places...

In Edmonton I was awaited by a broad smiling Janet, an old friend from Norway. I hadn't seen her for almost 8 years, but even so she'd invited me over to stay at her place and 'make my home her own' - well, don't mind if I do! Janet, her husband Chris and their little son Isaac where very welcoming and extremely hospitable.I spend one lovely week living in luxury; I didn't have to wonder where I'd sleep that night, worry about diner or how long I'd be allowed to stay, act the perfect traveler-part,or (like Janet put it) 'sing for diner'.
I spend most of my week working and catching up on traveler-stuff. Every now and then I like to sit down and plan my next steps, book a bed or flight, take care of my gear and equipment, ship some on-the-road-collected stuff home and think about the trip I'm making, and what's still ahead of me. Sometimes I feel like I sat down for an 8 course meal, and I've only just enjoyed my first drink and getting ready for the appetizer. These first few months in America and Canada have been great (and still are for a few more weeks), but I feel like I'm just getting started and there's so much more ahead.. Soon Alaska is finally going to be 'served' to me on a Big Golden Platter, and I'm so excited I can hardly wait!

Because, for those of you who haven't heard yet, I finally got my American Volunteer Visa!!!!!!!!!!! Yeaeaeaeahhh :D My thanks go out to you for supporting me, your positive thoughts and lucky dolls must have helped! A quote from my-Facebook-self to share my joy with you; 'My dear friends! After a year of research, emails, forms, codes, official international photo's, expensive telephone calls, appointments, finger scans, more foreign forms, overnight express shipping, international appointments, many credit card withdrawels, a hell of a lot perseverance, sweat and tears... I finally required... *drum roll*... my AMERICAN VOLUNTEER VISAAAAAAAAAA!!!!!!!!!! YIIIIIHAAAAA!!! Alaska here I come!!! :D :D :D'.
So yes, nothing stands in the way of a successful Alaska now! I booked my flight from Calgary to Anchorage, and my start date as an international volunteer in Denali National Park is officially confirmed to beMonday April 16th! Sooo happy I could die!!! Éh Loulou?! ;)

But for now I'm just going to enjoy my last month in Canada, and as I'm currently in the Rocky Mountains - I don't think that will be a problem! Only arrived in Jasper (Jasper National Park) a few days ago, and you can not imagine the scenery... Mountains, mountains and mountains. Big, grand, rugged, wild and very beautiful.

A small example to paint you a picture; yesterday I went for a small and simple hike just out of town. About 10 minutes after I entered the forest I ran into 3 deers (distance about 5 meters), 10 minutes later I walked by a complete herd of grazing elk (about 25 of them), further along the road I was only 2 meters away from 2 deers, still further along I walked by 2 eagles, and by the end of the day I got as close as 5 meters from a moose. It was beautiful weather, and thanks to my very succesfull hitch hike I got to see some beautiful nature sceneries and enjoy the snow! And by the time I got back to town, the herd of elk had moved. They were now occupying the train station, rails and main road - happily grazing and wandering around, not aware or caring of the hold up they were causing.

This is Canada to me... This is what I've been searching for. This is the ride full of euphoria!

So I'd better go out now and enjoy while I'm still here éh?! ;) :) Bye guys, I'll 'see' you soon again in the outdoors!

Reacties

Reacties

Kristian

Ik dacht even dat je al bij de 'echte Magic Bus aangekomen was... Maar dit is ook leuk ;)

Komen er ook nog weer foto's?
Gr Kristian

mama

al lezend was ik even in het verre Canada met jou en reisde met je mee...
nu kijk ik om me heen en zie een zwols huis en grijze hollandse lucht. en hoor live-muziek, dat dan weer wel :p.
lieve dochter, wat een mooi verhaal weer, en al is het 'pas' het voorgerecht, wat heb je al veel beleefd!
Dikke knuffel en liefs, jks ;)

gemma en wim

Hallo Inge

Je bent alweer een eind verder gekomen on hobbeling
roads, allemensen je reist heel wat af en wat er dan nog komt. Maar heel fijn dat het zo goed gaat. We blijven je volgen. Liefs van ons uit zwolle.

suzana

Hoi Inge,
Gefeliciteerd met je visa, COOL! Wij hebben 6 dagen in de trein gezeten naar China. Veel comfortabeler, denk ik. Toch vind ik het gaaf om dan echt de leegte en de grootte van zo'n land te ervaren. Nu weet je pas echt hoe groot Canada is!!!! Veel plezier in the Rocky Mountains!

Linde

Lieve Inge, ook al vind jij dat ik een reiziger ben. Vergeleken met de ervaringen die jij nu op doet waren die van mij niets!! Ik ben trots op je en kan inderdaad aan de foto's zien dat je volop geniet. Ik bewonder je schrijfstijl, je prachtige uitspraken. Tijdens het lezen omschrijf je alles zo goed dat het voelt alsof ik achter je aan reis en alles vanuit je rugtas mee mag maken. Geweldig dat het VISUM gelukt is en je droom trip naar Alaska door kan gaan. Hier in Nederland is net de lente begonnen, prachtig seizoen natuurlijk maar dat ga je nog vaak genoeg meemaken. Eerst genieten, ENJOY!

Jasper en Carolijn

Hey Inge, wij hebben vanavond weer een heerlijke voorlees avond gehad. Mooie verhalen. En je bent niet de enige die verre reizen maakt.... Met grote ogen heeft ze gekeken onderweg en nu zit ze op een stoel in de woonkamer in Appingedam. Bobo is verhuisd. Groeten van ons drie, J, C & B

Dirk-Jan

Ha inge
Zo te lezen een heftige reis gehad in de bus ;)
Tof dat je visa geregeld is :)
X dj

{{ reactie.poster_name }}

Reageer

Laat een reactie achter!

De volgende fout is opgetreden
  • {{ error }}
{{ reactieForm.errorMessage }}
Je reactie is opgeslagen!

Deze reis is mede mogelijk gemaakt door:

Travel Active