Working for NOLS Patagonia

Fast paced frenzy

My last days in New York I found a wonderful home at the apartment of Clémentine and Florant, friends who I know from my travels to New Zealand. I hadn't seen them in years, but I felt right at ease and home - with the fireplace burning and a glass of something very good welcoming me right in. Their lovely place was warm, comfortable and a very welcome little oasis of quiet and relaxation. I slept on a comfy sofa bed, enjoyed breakfasts with Clémentine every morning, and on my last night we went out to diner in a local Italian restaurant - New York style all the way! I spent my last couple of days relaxing, processing all the impressions from the first days, catching up on correspondence, finding CouchSurf addresses for my next destinations and exploring more of the city.  I 'climbed' (elevator which goes up 65 floors in 15 seconds) Rockefeller Center, also known as 'The Rock'. Once at the top floor, you have a pretty amazing view of New York city. Went to the Guggenheim museum! The building itself is probably the best part of the museum, definitely worth a trip. At first I thought the widely exposed exhibition was ruining the interior to be honest, but halfway along my visit (and halfway up the enormous spiraling floors) I realized there was something to it. Beautiful and amazing building, pretty good exhibition ;) Admired the buildings of Grand Central Station, New York Public Library, Radio City Music Hall and the Flatiron Building. All beautiful in their old design, famous for their makers or users and surrounded by modern architecture. Wandered around the streets of the Wall Street cirquit, Chinatown, Little Italy and the Lower East side.  I had been to Chinatown and Little Italy before, but was convinced I must have missed 'it', and that there must be more to it. Turns out Little Italy is nothing more then one street filled with Italian-looking restaurants and tourist shops. Bit of a downer when you've actually been to Italy, and know 'the real thing'. Chinatown on the other hand does give you the impression that you've stepped into a Chinese bubble in the midst of all the New York madness. Shops everywhere selling Asian artifacts, unidentifiable objects and food, neon signs in bold colors showing Chinese writing, stalls on the sidewalks presenting wares, the strangest music, and many, many Asian people. Yes, Chinatown is exactly what you expect it to be. Walking the streets of New York (Manhattan) is quite like going to a fair, it's very impressive. Noise, colors, sounds, smells, people and movement are a constant overkill. I have been observing NY street behavior as I was walking down 5th Avenue..  There is a permanent smell of something-burned-on-a-barbecue, as the carts on the sidewalks 'heat up' their pretzels, hot dogs or falafel's. Every 10 seconds (I counted) some driver somewhere feels the need to announce their presence with a honk-honk-hooooonk, which is usually replied with another enthusiastic honk-festivity. All of this despite the 'DON'T HONK! $350 PENALTY' signs which hang on every stoplight. When honk-free, the police, ambulance or fire trucks like to mingle with a little sound of their own. And this is LOUD, I can tell you.  People walk as if the pavement is their red carpet. You know, kinda with a 'I am a New Yorker, so you tourist should move for me, because I sure as hell won't break my step for you' face. So you move.  Of course, you never wait for a red light. You might just take a moment to look left or right to make sure that no crazy cab driver will run you over, but other then that you just go. Shops wave of heat, music, the occasional doorman or security personal, doors that open either way and tourists standing in front of the door pondering to go in or wondering where to go. Not to be forgotten are the men on the street selling live animals like today's newspaper, sitting stacked on top of each other waiting for someone to show interest. Do guinea pigs survive in 5 degree temperatures, I wonder? And don't forget the car madness, driving within all of this moving chaos. Seriously so many cabs (I honestly think there must be at léást 10.000 cabs in New York), people driving like there is no tomorrow or something terrible will happen if they don't make that green light. Honk your way through traffic is driving lesson number one I believe. New York has continued to show me its people. The other day, as I was strolling around in a convenience store, an older woman was browsing through magazines and suddenly asked for my opinion on a body builder she had come across in a Fitness Magazine. "Ha, you should have seen your expression! You went like.. 'Wow!!!". I could have done without that image, thank you! Later in the subway, a man merrily introduced himself to us: "Good afternoon folks, my name is Jay and I am homeless. I want to ask you if you can spare a nickel, dime or quarter. Some food or drinks!" As he made his way through the coupe and people gave, he responded to everything he received with a surprising kind and strong "Oh thank you! Thank you so much! God bless!". I am ashamed to admit that when a nice homeless man on the streets of Brooklyn asked me for some change, I was so taken aback that I answered him I hadn't got any before I stopped to think about it. Apparently it's sort of a New York thing that 'the good homeless ones' help tourists, and get a dollar or two for their city service. This particular man had just helped me find my way, just like 'Gizmo' (previous story) did. But now I know. And I'll be prepared for my next visit! People have been lovingly calling New York a 'fast paced city'. Well, it is. It is never quiet, it is never still, it never stops. New York does not sleep. Going out to diner is like a speeded up version of a Dutch going out to diner. Within 5 minutes of your arrival, waiters will have given you ice water, a bread basket with some butter, and presented you the menu. Once you've made your choice, diner will be brought to you within 10 minutes (at the most). As soon as someone of your table finishes his plate, it is swished away from under their nose. Your water is constantly being refilled, and every now and then a waiter comes over to check on you. As you have eaten your fill, the bill is presented (no peppermints). You can be in and out in as little as 45 minutes, but still are required to tip 20%, on top of taxes. Jaa dag! Didn't think so.. When you wish to buy something sweet or lunch-like and you take your time to look at all of your delicious looking options (wondering what in the world they may be) you are very quickly reminded that you are taking too long.  Even the guy on the street selling me (what turned out to be a terrible) pretzel was declaring a loud "Next!!!" before he'd even handed me my purchase, and there was no one behind me 'standing in line'. Honestly. So I must admit that after a little over a week in all of this fast pacedness, I wouldn't mind going to something a little more slow paced, thank you. Visiting New York City has been an experience to remember. It has been great, grand, crazy and on some occasions a disappointment, but nevertheless a city to go back to. Goodbye New York, until we meet again! * Inge's note: Once again I've managed to ramble on too long! Things tend to get 'out of control' when I try to write a short update. You have to understand that writing this all down is my way of preserving my journey, gathering my thoughts, remembering little details and the people that make this journey what it is. And I want to share it with you - as blunt, sarcastic, happy or sad it may be. Your response is phenomenal! It's lovely to have such support, thank you :) :)

Reacties

Reacties

Uriël

ha Inge,
wat een enthousiaste en herkenbare verhalen over New York; ja ook de kinderen en ik zeiden in 2009 dat we er zeker nog eens naar terug zouden gaan. Leuk dat je vrienden uit New Zealand trof; dat geeft je reis iets speciaals. Leonie is dit weekend na een reis van 30 uur -je kent het vast wel- uitgeteld aangekomen in Cuzco en went daar nu aan alles, w.o. de hoogte. Over hoogte gesproken; die schitterende bergketen op de panoramafoto onder "Inge in America en Canada" ligt niet in Canada of America maar het is de Mont-Blancketen vanaf de Franse kant; óók mooi! Die foto heb je misschien tijdens een inlooptocht gemaakt?
All the best met wat je gaat doen; vooral in het witte Alaska waar het nu een paar maanden schemert.
hartelijke groet van Uriël

Trevor

Well, as you get out of NY, I think you will start to get some peppermints and maybe even some chocolate mints.

Carolijn

Quite a read indeed... Maar leuk om zo met je mee te leven, want dat doen we hoor! Zou graag ook eens inzoemen op NY. Ik moet zeggen veel zaken die je beschrijft herken ik als Amerikaans van mijn reis naar de VS (Atlanta en Nashville). Onze sociale voorzieningen zijn gewoon veel beter. Als voorbeeld, de 20 dollar tip in restaurants is het loon van de bediening. Niet een fooi zoals wij dat kennen, geen extraatje. Het bedrag op de bill is voor zijn baas. Tip je niet dan heeft de ober niets verdient. Ook het onpersoonlijke van iemand die je de pretzel (what ever it may bee) verkoop roept herinneringen op. Zo herinner ik me 'John the waiter' die ons op straat o zo vriendelijk naar binnen lokte, maar toen we een keer zaten naar het eerste lege bord wees en geïrriteerd met z'n vingers klikte zo van "geef aan dat bord". En dat alles zonder oogcontact te maken. Als je sociaal gezien een beetje uitglijdt in een stad als NY dan sta je te bedelen in de subway. Jay is waarschijnlijk hoogopgeleid, maar er was geen vangnet toen hij zich verstapte... Het verschil is groot. Wat een levenservaring doe jij op zeg... Nu al, en de échte beren moeten nog komen ;-) Again, a joy to read!
Liefs van Jasper en mij!

mama

ha dochter van me! nooit te lang jouw verhalen hoor, het maakt je avontuur heel levendig en voorstelbaar voor mij. dus ga lekker zo door, just keep swimming ;). lfsm.

Anne

Kus voor Inge!

Gwen

He Inge!
Wat een verhaal! Samen met je mooie foto's geeft het een goede indruk van wat jij allemaal meemaakt. Heerlijk! Op de foto's is goed de gekkenhuis van NY te zien en samen met je verhaal is het alsof wij samen met jou meereizen :-) Keep them coming!

Liefs Gwen & Joost

Peter A

Ik vond ook het Guggenheim gebouw het mooist. Hadden ze nog die rotsblokken op kussentjes?

Wouter

Leuk verhaal Weer Inge. En ook ik vindt het niet te lang. Trouwens er zijn ruim 13.000 yellow cabs in New York, dus goede schatting.

Clementine

Inge!
We received your card yesterday :) Thank you!
It was really nice to have you with us for these few days, and to see you again unexpectedly this week!
I hope everything went smoothly with your I-94 form and that you're now all set to continue your trip peacefully.
Enjoy every minute of it, it's going to be an amazing adventure!!
Clem xx

{{ reactie.poster_name }}

Reageer

Laat een reactie achter!

De volgende fout is opgetreden
  • {{ error }}
{{ reactieForm.errorMessage }}
Je reactie is opgeslagen!

Deze reis is mede mogelijk gemaakt door:

Travel Active