Working for NOLS Patagonia

The City that Never Sleeps

After a mere 5 days in New York, I can tell you that New York is not a city; it is an experience.  A never-ending, always expanding, moving and overwhelming experience. Times Square is a theme park, New Years is an absolute killing roller coaster, the people are loud, present and lovely, the NYPD is always close, and the size of everything is enormous. The past couple of days I have acted the perfect tourist part, trying to see, do and experience 'everything'. With a city like the size of New York, that's pretty much impossible, but I like to try nontheless. So far I've explored the neighborhoods of Greenwich Village, The Meetpacking District, Soho, Noho, Little Italy, Chinatown, East Village, Brooklyn, Central Park and of course everything surrounding Times Square, 5th and Madison Avenue, Broadway and 42end Street (the one street that connects them all). My favorite area's by far are Greenwich Village and Soho. Greenwich Village is like a little French town, except with American influences. The main street is a cobbly small street (with space for only 1 taxi in between the sidewalks), and the shops are cute, colored and as different as you can imagine. The streets are very 'upperclass suburb'; trees planted neatly in rows and patches, the occasional bike chained to a streetlight, tall houses with even windows, stairs leading up to the frontdoors and everything very well maintained. As I was walking around I suddenly recognized an apartment building.. Oh yes, I am talking about Monica's and Rachel's apartment from Friends! Há, I was so happy :D (those of you who know me will understand). Quite cool to see 'the real thing'! And a couple blocks over, I walked by Carrie Bradshaws apartment from Sex and the City! The poor owner had hung up a sign begging us to stay of his property and not to take too many photographs... I did a lot of 'windowshopping' and wishing I had more money and space in my bag pack, but also bought some really delicious cupcakes in the well known Magnolia Bakery. Seriously legen... wait-for-it ...dary bro's :p Soho is the ultimate New York experience. A neighborhood once owned by hippies and junks, now very hip and happening with all the biggest designer brands on your very own corner. Beautiful cobbled streets and handsome tall old buildings, with the occasional wink to the neighborhoods past, seriously nice stores and galleries, posh people, tourists, cabs and very expensive cars (I do believe it was a Lamborghini making all the Porsches and Jaguars look bad). More windowshopping for me! And Times Square... Times Square is a friggin' madhouse! A gazillion blinking lights, screens, sounds, buildings high like the sky, cars, cabs, people, tourists and your friendly neighborhood Elmo, Mickey and Mini Mouse trying to get your money by 'offering' photographs for a 'tip'. And all of that in a space comparable to a football field.  Seriously through... Unreal and headache-giving as it might be, Times Square is one of a kind. By now I have traveled many many meters by subway, and can finally say that I believe I am starting to 'get the hang of it'. Changing stations is never easy, as you have to go outside and find the poorly lit entrance of your uptown/downtown subway somewhere along the road (as I learned on my first NY night). You can't say you will meet someone at the subway station entrance, 'cause a subway station always has at least 3 to 5 entrances, facing complete different sides. Announcing the stations in the subway varies from enthusiastic stories with Happy New Years wishes, to none whatsoever. And I have learned the hard way that there are both local subway lines (stops at every station) and expres (stops not so much) subway lines. Hello Harlem (waaaay up north!).  I have had the pleasure of meeting the NY people. New Yorkers are incredibly friendly and chatty, always willing to assist you in your search or quest, and (depending on the neighborhood) will walk up to you and help you as soon as you pull out your map. You are always greeted with a quick "Hey how are you?", or general shouts such as "Hey guys, how's everybody doing today?" and "Did we all have a good time on New Years?". When asked "Where are you from?", don't say 'The Netherlands' since half the people have no idea where that is, let alone that it's country. Always reply with "Holland, Amsterdam", cause Amsterdam they know! New Yorkers like to talk. Or at least the loud ones do. One evening as we were making our way down to Central Park, a minster Dwaine introduced himself to us. He accompanied us to the right direction, and while doing so was making sure that I was looked after. "Are you guys taking care of my girl Ing-ge?! Are you?!!". Tim: "Oh she's your girl now?", Dwaine: "Don't make me ask you again!", and told us to name him Gizmo. My name is proving to be difficult here. So far I've heared a lot of Ing-ge, but also Ing, Ieng, Iegge or Ienggay (seriously). I also had the opportunity to celebrate New Years Eve in New York this year. Two days ago, a New Yorker told me that 'they' could pay him the world, and he still wouldn't go to Times Square on New Years Eve. Oh how I wish he could have told me that before.. On a certain point during New Years Day, I realized that my NY buddies didn't want the same thing as I did. I wanted to stand on Times Square and see the ball drop, they wanted to party and didn't really care about dropping balls.  So after a lot of mind pushing and pulling at my part, I left our 'roof party' at 9.30 PM and went off to Times Square on my own to see that damn ball fall. I wasn't the only one with that idea... Now I don't mind crowds, I don't mind waiting, I don't mind seeing little, I even didn't mind being alone, for I was glad I had the strength to chose my months-long-wish over the warmth that is human company. But Times Square was Way Too Full. Too many people, wáy too many people, with wáy too little space for them to celebrate their New Years excitement in. I tried, I really did, but I felt extremely uncomfortable, nauseated, pressed and pressured, and even afraid in those surroundings. Getting out or to 'the back' wasn't an option, the police had closed off most of the streets and were very strict. Now if I was able to see anything at all... But I couldn't see of hear a damn thing, just the angry shouts of the people around me trying to push closer. Didn't even get close to the 'squares' where people were standing. So I left. I took the subway far away, to Central Park. I stayed for as long as necessary, watched, and went home. My first 'Happy New Years' came from the partying people sitting next to me in the subway. They were really nice. Came home, and went to bed. Perfect location, wrong situation. Lesson learned. Right now I am sitting in the New York Public Library, in a reading room the size of Texas, with a Louvre-looking interior. My NY buddies and I had to leave our lovely apartment today, and I am escaping the cold, wind and my exhaustion with a Starbucks cuppa tea and a 'Black & White American cookie'. My apartmentpeople have spread out over town, back to their studies in Montreal, travels from New Zealand or flights home to the Netherlands. Tonight I will find a new home at the Park Avenue apartment (sure to be with another doorman!) of a New Zealand friend of mine. Still the same city, but new stories for sure! Inge's note: I do apologize for the enormous length of this story! Will try to split it up next time. But at least you're up to date now! And I did want to thank those who are following me and responding so enthusiastically and with many on my last story :) :) It is honestly very nice to know that so many of you are traveling along - whether family, friends, old colleagues or my optometrist ;)  I appreciate it, so many thanks!

Reacties

Reacties

lute

Inge,
i enjoyed reading your experiences;
ups and downs!
you'll manage!
happy new year.

Trevor

I hope you gave a friendly hello to America for me Inge!!!

suzana en Eric

Wat een leuk verhaal, krijg echt het NY gevoel!
Wij wensen je een heeeeel gelukkig en zeer bijzonder 2012!!

Marc

Super om te lezen!! Lieve groeten van Marc en Marjan uit Groningen....euhm.... Holland, Amsterdam

Gerry

Super om je NY verhaal te lezen. En wat mij betreft, is t verhaal niet te lang. Lekker uitgebreid geeft mij t gevoel je belevenissen nog meer mee te beleven.
En leuk dat je n echt " Friends" huis hebt gezien! Mn favo serie. Maar k twijfel of ik het huis zou hebben herkend. Maar k ken t gevoel van toen ik in USA was en oa langs de bar van de serie " Cheers" kwam.

Ik kijk weer uit naar je volgende verhaal. Geniet, beleef en fijn dat je je belevenissen deelt.

Peter A

Beslist niet te lang, leuk om te lezen!

Josine

Hey Ing-ge!! :)

Superleuk verhaal en helemaal niet te lang!! Ik kijk alweer uit naar je volgende!! En natuurlijk nog een superhappy NewYear, dat het zich perfect voor je mag ontvouwen, je op de geweldigste plaatsen mag brengen en je altijd alle steun mag ontvangen die je nodig hebt!! Xx

bommie

Ingeltje.pingeltje piekeltje pa,we genieten enorm van jouw fantastische reisverslagen!! heerlijk om zo mee te kunnen leven. Ervaringen, die je nooit meer zal vergeten. Een bijzonder begin van 2012, waarin we je heel veel geluk en succes wensen met alle plannen. Het gaat lukken! en wij zijn trots op je doorzetting. veel liefs Bommie en Groopie

Gwen

Voortaan ga ik erbij zitten met een koekje en een kopje thee. Mijn rust momentje, zo zeg ik tegen de kids als jouw verhaal binnenkomt :-)
Heerlijk!! Zo reizen we helemaal met je mee en lopen ook enthousiast door NY! Lang? Wel nee!! Geniet van je nieuw onderkomen! xx

Papa

Mooi werk dochter!

Wim en Gemma

Hoi Inge,

Geweldig wat een belevenissen! Van ons ook nog een heeeel goed 2012 gewenst, waarin alles verloopt zoals je hoopt! Geniet ervan. We denken aan je. Lieve groetjes van ons!

Inge

Hey Ing-ge, heerlijk om je verhalen te lezen. (Robert en ik zijn er in april nog geweest). Wat een belevenissen en wat schrijf je goed en vlot. Veel liefs en fijn om zo mee te genieten. Ik blijf bij je ;-)
Inge

ThijsD

Gotta love the ienggay! :D

Jacquelineeeeee

Pingie!!
Superleuk om te lezen!
Ik krijg nu het idee dat ik ook een keer naar New York zou moeten.. Haha.
X

Inge

Dearest Inge,
I hope you still have enough internet minutes to read all comments! :-) Good to hear about your experience at Time Square - I wont go too!! The Netherlands has got a water problem in the north now, some people have been evacuated.. but we will survive as you know, we can swim and sail! I hope you enjoy your further trip!

Groetjes uit Haarlem!

Melanie en Erik

we zijn nu ook ingelogd, kregen de eerste verhalen via gwen. Zo leuk om te lezen en wat beschik je over mooi engels!
Goed begin van je grote reis en je geniet volop.Wij bevelen Ellis Isl. ook aan in te bezoeken. Vanaf Battersea point met ferry...
Ga zo voort! liefs

sieglinde

Wat een boeiend verslag. Krijg zin om ook naar New York te gaan!

Wendy

zo Inge,
de kop is eraf met 1-1-2012 00.00 uur in de underground, passend toch voor een reiziger :) Wat heb je al een andere dagen dan hier in grijs NL. Erg leuk zoals je schrijft, engels lijkt echt je tweede moedertaal, goed hoor.
Ben nu al benieuwd naar je volgende verhaal

Gerry

Hi Alaskan woman :-)

Wauw, je bent in Alaska! Zoals jij het omschrijft en ik de fotos zie, is t een paradijselijke locatie om te zijn. Omringd door de schitterende natuur. Oh wat heerlijk. En dan werken in zon omgeving.zucht, zwijmel.
Ik bewonder je avontuurlijke bloed. T kriebelt mij toch ook. Super!

{{ reactie.poster_name }}

Reageer

Laat een reactie achter!

De volgende fout is opgetreden
  • {{ error }}
{{ reactieForm.errorMessage }}
Je reactie is opgeslagen!

Deze reis is mede mogelijk gemaakt door:

Travel Active