Working for NOLS Patagonia

New York, New York!

New York - here I am! After a grueling day of no less then 21 hours of traveling, I was welcomed with open arms in our New York Manhattan apartment. An apartment with a view on the Statue of Liberty, a lovely group of people, and a bed waiting. You have no idea how welcome a bed is after a day like that! My parents and big brother had come to the airport with me to say goodbye. After a tearful (on my end) goodbye, I was on my way. Funny thing, after all those months 'saying goodbye' and 'actually leaving' is as easy as going through security at an airport - after that my mind automatically thinks of nothing else but reaching the destination, looking ahead of what's coming. First I flew out to Dublin, where I had to transfer to a flight to NY. My flight to Dublin was leaving from a gate so close to the 'panorama terrace' from Schiphol, my parents and brother could wave me off and see me sitting in the plane :) This flight was short and easy. It did however got seriously delayed, so I sprinted straight to Dublin airport (helped out by the lovely stewardesses who allowed me off the plane as the very first person), and made my fight to NY no problem. This flight was close to 8 hours, and not the best flight ever to be honest. The plane wasn't as big and fabulous as I had hoped, although all the passengers did all have a little TV of their own. Sitting next to me was a big American man, who was obviously not in the mood for a conversation or any contact at all for that matter. The flight attendents where very nice, food was good and once again delivered on the most strange hours - but I was exhausted, and couldn't sleep. When we finally got close to NY, I was peacefully drifting away and dreaming of taking a cap. Thankfully the captain of the plane woke me up as we were flying over New York. It was a clear night and the view was beautiful, New York was literally a blanket of a million blinking lights. It woke me up straight away. The trip to my apartment was both great and grueling; I met the nicest people from Los Angelos on the subway. They were in town for a visit as well, and invited me to come over for a beer once I'm in LA :) When I had to change subways I got lost though, and easily wandered around for half an hour. This however, gave me the change to talk to a bunch of Americans, asking them for directions. I told the cops "I think I might be lost", to which one of them immediately responded "You can't be lost, you are here in Manhattan with us!". Gotta love that. Eventually and after a lot more (good) advice from New Yorkers, I found the apartment. The building is tall, impressing, with an amazing view, and... it has a doorman!!! Loooved that :D He ushered me in when I was staring doubtfully at the richly looking interior thinking "This can't be it", and asked me straight away "Are you the girl from the Canadian guys?! They are here and waiting for you!" So here I am! Slept 8 hours, had a good shower and some juice, and now ready to explore the city!

Reacties

Reacties

ThijsD

Vind ik leuk :)

Niels

First!
Mooi verhaal inge, veelal positieve ervaringen tot nu toe! Geniet van je reis en doe Gaga de groeten. :)

Josine

'You can't be lost, you are here in Manhattan with us!' Haha, geweldig!! :)

mama

wat fijn, die snelle eerste berichten! klinkt helemaal als een goede start dochter :). geniet lekker verder en wij leven in gedachten met je mee. nog beetje wennen hier en stil, en overal nog tekentjes van jouw verblijf hier. btw, SB-boek is goed aangekomen, thx sint! Lfsm.

Suzana

Hoi Inge, klinkt goed!!! Leuk, geniet van New York.... wat zal het vuurwerk met zo'n uitzicht geweldig zijn, morgen!

Trevor

sniff and a tear, oh those americans, so nice!

Hobina

Hey Inge,
Fijn dat je veilig aangekomen bent.
Ik zag net op het nieuws een verslag van de voorbereiding voor NYE, het wordt vast geweldig.
Geniet ervan en hou ons op de hoogte van je belevenissen!
Liefs

Gwen

Hey lieve Inge,

Wat een heerlijk eerste verhaal, dit wordt een online roman om naar uit te kijken :-)!!!
Klinkt allemaal als de next Sex and the City verhaal. Keep us posted!! And a happy NEW YEAR in NY!!!

xx Gwen & family

Daphne

Hi Inge!

wat een positief begin van je avontuur, leuk dat je al mensen hebt ontmoet die je vast nog eens ga zien! Mag ik je een paar tips geven? Ik zou zelf graag een beeld krijgen van wat je ziet. Als je in New York aankomt, op zoek naar de metro de ondergrondse zelf, enz. Is het groot, druk, is er veel kleur, ruimte, enz. enz. Laat ons letterlijk met je meekijken! Alsof we er bijna zelf staan, zeg maar..... Verder alle liefs en veel plezier! xx Daphne en Tonny.

dorien

wauw, wat een mooie start van je reis! knap zo door NY je weg weten te vinden!en binnen gehaald worden door een doorman, chique!ben benieuwd naar jouw oud-en-nieuw-nacht. have fun! xdorien

sieglinde

Happy new year! Fijn dat je goed bent aangekomen in NY.

Gerry

Hello New York!
Je grote avontuur is dus begonnen. Bij deze een heeeeeel Happy New Year gewenst. Maar dat gaat vast en zeker wel goed komen.

Wouter (je lenzenman)

Hi Inge,
Eindelijk begint je reis! Ontzettend veel plezier gewenst! En uiteraard de beste wensen voor 2012.
Your living the dream... geniet!!
Groeten vanuit Hoogeveen/Zwolle

Diana Rolf

Inge wat een geweldig begin!Hoe was oud&Nieuw? gelukkig nieuw jaar en geniet van je reis!
Dikke x Diana

TOM

Nog de Beste wensen in 2012 en veel reis plezier..groeten van Het Hanze Huis

{{ reactie.poster_name }}

Reageer

Laat een reactie achter!

De volgende fout is opgetreden
  • {{ error }}
{{ reactieForm.errorMessage }}
Je reactie is opgeslagen!

Deze reis is mede mogelijk gemaakt door:

Travel Active