Working for NOLS Patagonia

NOLS Patagonia

"The beginning is the most important part of the work."
Plato


Monday, 13th of January
Another year with new possibilities and chances. I sent the first email to NOLS today, trying to get in touch with the right people.

Tuesday, 17th of June
Roughly five months later. At 8 pm I have my Skype interview with Raúl, director of the NOLS Patagonia branch. Fifteen minutes into the conversation he tells me he would like me to be their equipment intern for four months, and I can start working in October.

Thursday, 25th of September
The day before I fly to Patagonia. I'm in town to get a few last items; souvenirs, a Spanish dictionary and some more socks. Since over a decade I have bought all of my socks from the friendly old guy at the Saturday morning market. Always the same kind and same color. I literally own 20 pairs of identical black socks.
The friendly old guy retired recently. So here I am in the Hema, looking at black socks. I feel the different fabrics, and look for something that resembles my old ones. However, when I leave the store 5 minutes later, I walk out with shocking pink socks. The time might have come for something different. Live a little, change your colors. What the hell right?

Thursday, 9th of October
My second week at NOLS Patagonia. It's sunny today. Oscar, Pablo and I are working outside. Oscar (a NOLS instructor) is packing his gear for the kayak course he is about to instruct, Pablo (a colleague) and I are repairing backpacks. We soak up the sun and talk about future career options within NOLS. Oscar wonders whether I would like to become an instructor. Though I have not seen it as an option before, there are many things I would really like about it. While we elaborate on the possibilities, Oscar is rummaging through his bags. He can't find his black gloves. Most of his gear and bags are black, everything blends together. Though he loves the color, he opts it could be time to add some green so he would be able to find his gear. We continue talking about colors, referring to a conversation we had the previous day.

Oscar and I exchanged thoughts on how someone's color can be one of the things that determine your personality, character, and the way you are connected with your surroundings.
My favorite color by far is blue, has been for years. Striking royal blue, maybe a softer version that looks like lavender, or blue so delicate it could be grey. I surround myself with it! Occasionally I will add some green, a soft taupe or brown. Small patches of bright colors become complementary accents, to add flavor and power. I feel comfortable in it, and it's me.
Oscar feels comfortable in his black clothing. It's been his color for a long time, it suits him and "I look really good in it!" he says with a wicked grin. We both know that he's not only talking about the clothes on his back, but the colors of his life as well. NOLS instructor colors! I tell him about my new pink socks, my own little wicked ways. Oscar smiles "Changing and adding new colors in your life is good. Try something new! How else will you found out whether you like being a NOLS instructor?"

So here I am, working as an intern for NOLS on their Patagonian location, stretching into something new. It definitely feels like a change from the things that I've been doing so far! Though my other travels have brought me to many amazing places and wonderful people as well, none of them have ever had such a strong serious component in it as this time. Here I am "future hunting", as my new friend Noah put it so adventurously.

It's a really great opportunity to get to know NOLS and find out how things work. To observe the instructors as they prepare for their courses and work with the students. To ask questions, hear stories and experiences. To get a taste of the NOLS community and atmosphere. To live amongst the people who make it work, and inspire others to follow.

Four weeks in Patagonia already; a brand new country. New surroundings, intriguing and inviting. Another home, somewhere high up on a hill with a bright blue roof. The people in this life, with stories from Chile, America and Brazil. A new language, full of strange sounds and unheard words. My intern job, fresh possibilities. A continues stream of mate, the local drink. And a gorgeous handwoven woolen shawl, bought from a little local shop, beautifully bright yellow.

These new Patagonian colors might just be the beginning of something :)

Reacties

Reacties

mama

mooi verhaal dochter, kleurrijk als je leven!
dikke knuffel.

Sarah

Yay Inge. So happy for you. The world is at your fingertips!

Suzanne

Wat een mooi verhaal, "echt Inge" ik herken je er helemaal in. Goed teken voor de toekomst ;).

Hobina

Als je goed om je heen kijkt zie je dat alles gekleurd is (K. Schippers)
Mooi verhaal Inge, have fun in Patagonia and keep us posted!

Bas

Mooi verslag inge, gaaf te zien hoe jij nieuwe 'kleuren' toe laat in jou leven!! Zonder het mooie 'blauw' te vervangen.
Geniet en lieve groet bas

Madelein

Inge, Heel mooi hoe je schrijft! Je bent in een feest; jouw kleuren blauw met dotjes groen zijn als de natuur om je heen (zie foto). Ik wens je alle nieuwe dotjes kleur die de jouwe zijn en zullen zijn. en ademhalen - tot diep in je binnenste!

Melanie

Geweldig dat je ons deelgenoot laat zijn van je kleurrijke leven! En...alle vertrouwen dat je de kleur vast gaat houden en uit zal gaan bouwen! Veel liefs!

Gemma 26 okt

Lieve Inge, Heel fijn dat je je erg thuis voelt in dit nieuwe land en het leven daar!
Kleurrijk en bijzonder, past bij jou!
Tot de volgende keer! Liefs Van Wim en Gemma

Suzana

Leuk om te lezen Inge!
Heb je nog een paar KLEURrijke foto's die je met ons wilt delen op deze site?..... zou ik erg leuk vinden. Liefs Suzana

ThijsD

Bij welke Hema was je?

Gwen

Oh Inge, wat zijn we weer jaloers!! Wat een prachtige fotos en uiteraard weer een mooi verhaal! Wat ben jij aan het genieten van het leven!!
Liefs Gwen

Wendy

"Doe het met kleur!"
Prachtig, ben nu al erg benieuwd naar je volgende verslag -
óf je er nog meer kleuren bij neemt, krijgt, ziet, past, voelt, ontdekt, en zo ja, welke dan ??

{{ reactie.poster_name }}

Reageer

Laat een reactie achter!

De volgende fout is opgetreden
  • {{ error }}
{{ reactieForm.errorMessage }}
Je reactie is opgeslagen!

Deze reis is mede mogelijk gemaakt door:

Travel Active